Commonwealth Lawyers Association Logo
Maintaining and promoting the rule of law throughout the Commonwealth.
Loading Events

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association and the CLA co-convened webinar : Lawyers, Parliamentarians and the Rule of Law

April 27
Share

Register to join the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) and the Commonwealth Lawyers Association (CLA) on this engaging webinar on the Rule of Law.

Lawyers and Parliamentarians discuss their respective roles and boundaries in relation to Latimer House Principles and the Separation of Powers.

  • How do we co-operate for the good of all?
  • What are their respective roles in properly holding governments to account?
  • What are the challenges in post pandemic democracies?

DATE :  27th April 2021

TIME:

1.00 pm BST, UK

7.00 am, EST, Caribbean

3.00pm EAT, East Africa

8.00pm MYT, Malaysia

 

To register:

Register here

Chair:

  • Brian Speers, CLA President

Panellists:

  • Judge Zak Yacoob, Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa, Rtd
  • Senator the Hon. Alincia Williams-Grant, President of the Senate of Antigua and Barbuda
  • Hon. President Mohamed Nasheed, MP, Speaker of The People’s Majlis, Maldives
  • Oluseun  Abimbola, SAN., Chairman of the Section on Legal Practice and a previous Attorney General of Oyo State, Nigeria
  • Emily Davies, Head of Private Office, the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

We look forward to welcoming attendees for the session and there will be a Q and A opportunity following our panellist contributions. Should you wish to submit a question prior to the session, please email these to avni.kondhia@cpahq.org, referencing this event.

 

Details

Organisers

The Commonwealth Lawyers Association.
The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association


Sustainable Justice

The Future Role of The Law

Commonwealth Law Conference

in Nassau, The Bahamas | 5th – 9th September 2021